Like a Child

recess

“When I was a child, I spake as a child, I understood as a child, I thought as a child: but when I became a man, I put away childish things.” (KJV Bible, 1 Corinthians 13:11)

Words that keep coming to mind of late… Recess is over, folks. Time to buckle down to the work that needs to be done, to lead the way for the next seven generations that will follow our footsteps wherever they lead – evolution, or devolution.

That doesn’t mean we turn our backs on our inner child, or cease to carry a child-like spirit within. It doesn’t mean we ignore the wisdom of the young, who sometimes see things more clearly because they *do view life more simply. But there is a world of difference between child-like and child-ish, one a form of chosen innocence in all we do and see and say, and the other a form of dangerous naivete.

To me it simply means, it’s time to stand up and be counted, to take charge, to move forward. Quit passing the buck. Stop insisting on being entertained every minute of the day. Quit ignoring our responsibilities – to ourselves, to those around us, to our larger society, to the planet itself. Stop ignoring what needs to be done, that thing right there at my feet. At your feet. We can still have our fun, still have those child-like moments. But in between all the giggles, it’s time to be the grown-ups.

______
(C) 2017 Mary Batson, FrontPorchRambles.com
All rights reserved, especially the one to giggle while I do my chores.

Leave a Reply

